L I C E N S U R E  

 

 

What licensures are available in Missouri?

What is the difference between the tiers of licensure?

What are the educational requirements for licensure?

How much does it cost to apply for licensure?

What is the required supervision or experience needed for licensure?

How can I get a list of supervisors in my area?

Is there any way to be 'grand-parented in' as a licensed social worker?

Does Missouri have reciprocity with licensure from other states?

How soon can I apply for licensure?

Do Missouri's licensed social workers have Privileged Communication?

Are provisional licenses available?


 
 
 
 What licensures are available in Missouri?
 Baccalaureate Level:
  • Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker (LBSW)
  • Licensed Baccalaureate Social Worker -- Independent Practice (LBSW-IP)

 Masters Level:

  • Licensed Master Social Worker (LMSW)
  • Licensed Advanced Macro Social Worker (LAMSW)
  • Licensed Clinical Social Worker (LCSW)
 
 
What is the difference between the tiers of licensure?
Scope of Practice:
  • LBSW:  State Statute 337.600(9), (14) & 337.653. 2(1-10)
  • LBSW-IP:  State Statute 337.600(9), (14) & 337.653. 2(1-10)
  • LMSW:  State Statute 337.600(11), (12), & (16)
  • LAMSW:  State Statute 337.600(1), (8), & (13)
  • LCSW:  State Statute 337.600(2), (10), & (15)
BACK TO TOP
 
What are the educational requirements for licensure?
LBSW:  a baccalaureate degree in social work from an accredited social work degree program approved by the council of social work education (CSWE)
Refer to Statute Section 337.665. 1(1)
LBSW-IP:  a baccalaureate degree in social work from an accredited social work degree program approved by CSWE
Refer to Statute Section 337.665. 1(1)
LMSW:  a master’s degree in social work from an accredited social work degree program approved by CSWE or a doctorate degree in social work
Refer to Statute Section 337.644. 1(1)
LCSW:  a master’s degree from a college or university program of social work accredited by CSWE or a doctorate degree from a school of social work acceptable to the committee
Refer to Statute Section 337.615. 1(1)
LAMSW:  a master’s degree from a college or university program of social work accredited by CSWE or a doctorate degree from a school of social work acceptable to the committee
Refer to Statute Section 337.645. 1(1)

Refer to 20 CSR 2263-2.020 for all licenses

 
 

How much does it cost to apply for licensure?

Application for Initial License:

  • October - January; two year license $60.00
  • February - May; one & one half year license $45.00
  • June - September; one year license $30.00
Please refer to http://pr.mo.gov/socialworkers-fees.asp for the latest information.
BACK TO TOP
 

What is the required supervision or experience needed for licensure?

LBSW:  No supervision or experience needed (Refer to Statute 337.665. 1(1-5))
LMSW:  No supervision of experience needed (Refer to Statute 337.644. 1(1-5))
LBSW-IP:  2 years post-undergraduate supervised experience; minimum of 3,000 hours obtained in no less than 24 and no more than 48 consecutive months (Refer to Statute 337.665. 5)
LAMSW:  2 years post-undergraduate supervised experience; minimum of 3,000 hours obtained in no less than 24 and no more than 48 consecutive months  (Refer to Statute 337.645. 1(2))
LCSW:  2 years post-undergraduate supervised experience; minimum of 3,000 hours obtained in no less than 24 and no more than 48 consecutive months (Refer to Statute 337.615. 1(2))
 Refer to 20  CSR 2263-2.030 (3(B)) for LBSW-IP, LAMSW, and LCSW licensures
 

How can I get a list of supervisors in my area?

Fill out the Request for Supervisor Listing and return to the Chapter office by fax - 573-635-6728 or
email - chapter@nasw-mo.org.  Once we receive this completed form the Chapter office will then send the list
of supervisors to you.  Click here for Request form.
 

Is there any way to be 'grand-parented in' as a licensed social worker?

No. The LCSW grand-parenting period ended July 1, 1992. 
 

Does Missouri have reciprocity with licensure from other states?

Missouri will grant reciprocity only with states that meet exact requirements. Supervision hours, work/practice hours and the relevant ASWB exam may be accepted toward meeting the requirements if deemed equitable to Missouri standards. The State Committee for Social Workers is the only entity that has the authority to determine if reciprocity will be granted to a licensee. Refer to Rules Section 20 CSR 2263-2.060. To access the reciprocity application please click here: http://pr.mo.gov/boards/socialworkers/licbyrecip.pdf.
 BACK TO TOP
 

How soon can I apply for licensure?


You may apply for the LBSW or LMSW within 60 days of graduation from your accredited social work program.  Please visit the State Committee for Social Workers website at http://pr.mo.gov/boards/socialworkers/LMSW_LBSW%20Appl%20ONLINE.pdf for instructions and the application.
 
 

Do Missouri's licensed social workers have Privileged Communication?

Yes. Refer to Statute Section 337.636. Missouri supports the legal definition of Privileged Communication between licensed social workers and clients, except where there is a risk of public danger or a threat to the public good. "Privileged Communication" is defined as the premise and understanding between a professional and client that the information revealed by the client will not be divulged to others without expressed permission. 

 

Are provisional licenses available?

Provisional licenses are no longer available.
BACK TO TOP

 

"This website made possible through membership dues: the power of social work at work!"

National Association of Social Workers - Missouri Chapter
P.O. Box 2043 | Jefferson City, Missouri 65102-2043
573-635-6965 | Fax: 573-635-6728 | chapter@nasw-mo.org

Copyright © 2010 NASW Missouri Chapter
"The information on this page may not be reproduced, republished or mirrored on another webpage or websites, nor transformed into any other document form without written permission from the author."

Powered by YourMembership.com